Lilly Singh: Superwoman

This is part of a series of posts. You can read the previous post here.

I was slacking off on Instagram on this fateful day (we all do it) when I came across someone’s post tagging this young lady. I clicked and thus began my sojourn in Unicorn Island. This was my first encounter with Lilly (two lls as she would always insist) Singh aka Superwoman. I checked her Instagram timeline and was amazed by this person that I had no idea existed up until that moment. Lilly is a YouTuber who makes funny videos. That’s what she does for a living. Her goal? To make people happy. Now, what makes this all so incredible is her story. She used to be a really sad person and she battled with depression. When she came out of it, she decided to make it her life’s mission to put a smile on other people’s faces. You laugh, she laughs. And that was how her journey into making YouTube videos started. It grew, and evolved into this big community of people, TeamSuper, who draw strength from her, who are inspired to be happy and live happier lives. Her YouTube channel has grown in the last five years with 11Million subscribers.

Happiness is only real when shared- Jon Krakauer.

The first thing that struck me about her was her hair (I know, I like hair. Lol.) She has this mass of rich black silky hair that flows to her waist! Then her quick wit. I’m in awe of how fast she speaks without missing a beat, carefully constructing sentence after sentence in perfect rhythm.

She released her book recently, How To Be A Bawse which has made it on several bestseller lists in several countries and is presently on a book tour across different countries. Asides her youtube channel, she has this daily vlog channel where she vlogs about her activities for the day. So I decided to watch one of her vlogs one day and three things became immediately apparent.

One, she works really, really hard. It puts in perspective the level of success that she has achieved in the last 5 years. She makes her weekly videos, does the daily vlogs, hosts a live show at each of the locations she visits, does a meet and greet, book signings, interviews and a host of other things. And she does it all with so much energy. And this brings me to my next point…

I stumbled on a short clip from one of her live shows up on stage with so much energy and vigour and she owned that stage from start to finish. I’m amazed at how much energy this young lady has. It’s astounding. This is driven, I believe, from her passion; making people feel better about themselves and when you feel good about yourself, you gain more confidence in your abilities and it is with this confidence you take on the world. She constantly shows that happiness is worth fighting for.

And thirdly, how similar our experiences are. Although she’s a million miles away, and of a different ethnicity, when it gets down to the root of it, her experiences are somewhat similar to that of the average young person trying to find their way in the world. And it is this authenticity that she brings to her work that has made her successful. This and hard work.

Someone asked me recently why I like her and one of the reasons is her heart for people. That genuineness and authenticity about her. There’s something…wholesome about her. And, of course, because of her ability to laugh at herself. She doesn’t take herself too seriously. We all need to be able to get out of our heads and just… be.

I’m beginning to notice, in the course of writing these posts about the people who inspire me, that hard work is at the heart of their success. It totally proves to me that you can’t achieve anything by twiddling your thumbs and wishing. It won’t just fall into your lap.
Another thing I have noticed is that all these women are doing things they are passionate about. When you do something you are passionate about, it makes it easier, especially on days when you feel weighed down, to actually get up, and go to work. And when that thing you are passionate about is one that helps people and adds value to them, that’s an added reason to keep going.

Although I have not met Lilly, yet, I am inspired by her work, her selflessness and her genuine heart for people and I believe you don’t have to physically meet a person before you draw inspiration from them. I have decided to live inspired. You should too.

Bless!

 

4 thoughts on “Lilly Singh: Superwoman

  1. This was beautifully written, babe!
    Your writing is so colorful and filled with the inspiration you share from the people you’ve encountered. I’ve spent the last one hour watching Lilly’s videos and her energy and ‘life’ are truly contagious.
    Keep doing this amazing stuff you’re doing- inspiring others through your writing.
    It is beautiful.

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, babe! I always look forward to reading your comments. 🙂 Just the right nudge to keep going.
      And yes, Lilly’s energy is contagious. She’s truly amazing.
      As always, thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

