Taking Stock: 2016 In a Few Words

One day, in retrospect, the years of struggle will strike you as the most beautiful. – Sigmund Freud

2016 has been an interesting year for me. It was the year I stepped out and did things afraid. I can only see this in retrospect now because they didn’t feel like that back then. I took a lot of steps and made a lot of decisions especially with my career that I had somehow always just wondered about in 2015.

One of the big decisions I made was pursuing a career in Public Relations and Communications. This was really unplanned cos I just sort of fell into this or maybe it fell into my lap? I had never thought about PR as a career path I would ever tread, not because I thought there was anything wrong with it but because it never even entered my mind. Not in the least. But needless to say, it has been a rewarding experience and I’ll definitely want to keep pushing this envelope till I’m able to unravel as much as I can.

My knowledge about photography also took a different turn this year as I got to attend The Future Enterprise Support Scheme (TFESS) Photography training which was the first step in the chain reaction that was my 2016. It was what brought me to Lagos and somehow 2 weeks became 6 months. I didn’t do nearly enough with photography this year but I plan to change that by 2017. Because 2017 is my year of experimenting with photography. Experimenting because I’m on a journey to find my niché and you only find that out by doing a lot of experimenting. I’m finally going to be able to get my camera by February so fingers crossed.

My writing definitely took a different turn this year. I found myself dabbling in different things. Asides writing for work, I did some scriptwriting, which is something I have always wanted to try, I did some poetry or what I call my excuse for poetry. I don’t think they are that great because I have never exactly thought of myself as a poet. But maybe I will put some of them here, for posterity sake. Lol.
So my year in writing was interesting. I was able to be more consistent with the blog. In a bid to set a realistic goal for myself, I decided on writing 500 words daily. That didn’t turn out so well. Yep, you guessed it. I was as consistent as your power supply (okay, maybe it wasn’t that bad, but it sure feels like it). But I am not going to give up. No, sir! Every day is a new chance to try again, and try and try until we get it right! (Thanks Dee for those words).

Personal development. I attended more conferences, seminars, took more courses this year than I have ever done. And I must say that the wisdom gleaned from these gatherings are forever ringing in my mind. The most impactful one for me would have to be listening to Adaora Mbelu. It was like she reached into my head and knocked some nuts in place. Which led me to adopt her as one of the women to look up to –far away mentor things– another woman that fits into this would have to be my former boss, Ms Gloria Ballason. Her drive, tenacity and passion for God and humanity leave me in awe. She’s an amazing woman with strong values and principles. She demands that you give your best or nothing at all. I worked with her for barely 3 months and my life hasn’t remained the same. That’s the kind of person she is, she genuinely seeks to make you a better version of yourself. That’s the kind of person I want to be. I want excellence and integrity to be hallmarks of my life and work. I want to leave people better than I met them.
This is already turning out to be a tribute, lol. I think I will do a full post on the people who inspire me. So moving on.

I didn’t read as much as I have in previous years but I will say I read more widely. Everything from tech articles to economics. Medium was my go to site for everything. It was as if I was hungry and said hunger could only be satiated by a variety of helpings. I wasn’t satiated, of course, but that’s why one never stops reading, yes?

Relationships. There were key players in my life this year. Yinka, for always keeping me sane and for being a pillar of support. He’s my biggest fan. Lol! Faith…she’s my happy place, she’s the other voice in my head, she keeps me grounded. PrincessKiks, she is one of the strongest women I know. She doesn’t think she is but she is. She’s a constant inspiration. Gene, one of my favourite people this year for always being that voice in my head and incredibly attentive although he ‘never remembers’ but he listens (this here is an inside joke only he would understand), and to think I have known him for all of six months!  Juju… I never thought that I would or could have a friend who is 11 years younger than I am, but guess what, 2016 brought this young lady my way. It was fate, I tell you! She’s a bundle of all things sweet. She brings drama to my rather ‘dramaless’ life. She inspires me greatly and makes me want to be better. The TFESS Gang, yes, we bonded beyond the 2-week training and they have been a huge part of my year. I have learnt a lot with these people; like how much of a herculean task it is to plan anything on a Whatsapp group chat! Lol.
These ones rise to the top of the list for me. There are a lot of people o, but we will not leave here today if I start. So let me not start. I will simply say my year was shaped, in part, by the people who directly and indirectly contributed to it and I am grateful.

Looking to 2017… I have made and am still making lists. I am going to be more deliberate. One of the things I really want to do is identify causes that are dear to my heart and give more of myself to them.
I also want to be a better person to my friends and the people around me. It is a year of giving… I can smell it. I’m not going to bore you with all the details, but I’ll definitely document them as they unfold.

So this is me officially signing out! I hope your 2017 is filled with love, laughter and blessings that will exceed your expectations. Here’s to the fulfilment of your heart desires!

Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think – A.A Milne

Image: pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

